Can Software Development Techniques be Generalized?

Software Development (Programming) is one part of our world that has been spectacularly successful. It is tightly integrated with the advances in Computer Hardware – which have also been spectacular.

Any country that wants to be competitive in the global economy – must be computer competent. Able to program the computer – not just use it. And this rules out most of the countries in the world.

The machine I am writing this on – an ordinary laptop (sometimes called a notebook computer) is unbelievably advanced from the desktop computers of the Nineties. And it is has a fast connection to the Internet – also hugely improved.

I am left asking myself “Can these improvements be generalized – applied outside the Computer World? Which is after all, only a tiny part of the Real World?”

I must be specific – what Software Techniques might be generalized? Perhaps Git – version control software.

Right here I lose my readership – Software Developers are not interested in the larger world – and the larger world is not interested in them. Nevertheless, I press on.

Software always involves teamwork – effective teamwork, not just the lip-service you encounter everywhere. And Git helps teams work together.

I must digress briefly here – I worked for 20 years in the Computer Industry in the Eighties and Nineties. And I observed a spectacular lack of teamwork. These teams did not know how to work together. And the result was the waste of trillions of dollars and thousands of lives wasted uselessly.

Git could have saved them – but they did not want to be saved. Right here the Outside World intrudes into the Software World. It says “You must fail!” and they failed.

I have seen this over and over – the compulsion to fail. But there is also the compulsion to succeed, and Git was developed, and used, by these people.

I you want to know more, I suggest Git for Teams – published by O’Reilly. I have a copy using their Safari library – a fine service. Everything now is available as a service. We now live in a service economy.

Of Computer services.

Leave a Reply

