Innovation in Boston

Tomgram

Boston was an important place to my family, and I still have relatives there – rich relatives.

My great-grandmother came here from England, didn’t like it – went back and liked it less – and then came and stayed. I have visited the Boston they lived in – grim, three story buildings – the Back Bay. Where Julia Childs got her accent.

I didn’t take my grandmother long to move to the suburbs – where she met her husband, an immigrant from Nova Scotia, whose sister married into the rich Boston family I referred to earlier. My mother was born there – and never forgot the illusion of her patrician, upper-class origins.

The Boston this article refers to happened much later – in my time, and I can easily relate to it. I can now fancy myself as one of these innovators.

Bringing the Second Coming with them.

Leave a Reply

