The Sixties in America

I remember this well – although I had no idea what was going on at the time. Like everyone else, I was just trying to survive. Not a smart strategy.

The Sixties we now refer to, began in the late Sixties and lasted until the early Eighties. They started hopefully, and ended up without hope at all.

I am reading Prisoners of Hope: Lyndon B. Johnson, the Great Society, and the Limits of Liberalism. Another book that all Americans should read – but never will. LBJ could have been remembered as one of America’s great presidents – but ended up being remembered for Vietnam instead.


Let me recall my own history during this period. I was married from 1965-1970 – that ended when Beth had a complete mental breakdown – and told me to get out of her life. I left her in Los Angeles, and I went to my new job in Denver. In 1972, Beth killed herself – a dramatic event, as the death of a loved one always is.

In 1974, I had a mid-life crisis, dropped out for six years – and lived on my savings. I traveled in South-East Asia, and did Gestalt Therapy. When the money ran out, in 1980, I went back to work as a tech writer in the Computer Industry – back in California again. The Sixties ended – as a personal disaster.


They also ended as a National disaster – Americans lost their ability to remember anything – or notice anything. But plunged ahead, into the Future, as though the Devil was after them – which, no doubt he was.

Leave a Reply

