Apps for Nobodies

Hatching Twitter: A True Story of Money, Power, Friendship, and Betrayal

Twitter is a good example of an app for nobodies – violent, destructive nobodies own it, and similar people use it.

This morning I am writing about something that goes along with this – the intelligence gap. 

Let me explain:

First thing this morning, I opened the NY Review, that is stuffed with intelligent writing.

Then I opened my computer, to see that a review of mine about another computer I recently bought, had been published by Amazon. I gave it the worst possible rating. I said it was bad, bad, bad – in so many ways, I almost ran out of space writing about it.

To my surprise, I got a review of my review – that showed me how this computer had sold so well. Most computer users are not interested in how good their computer actually is (they do not use it to do any serious work) – but only in how good other people think it is! Which is strongly influenced by how well it is advertised. Clever advertising can sell anything.

I should have learned this when I was a tech writer. I was not supposed to tell it like it was – but tell it so it would look good, and sell!

The most important development of our age was how completely people could be controlled by the media. As in 1984 – updated by TV. Information overload began back in the middle of the 19th Century – and we are now in the 21st Century!

People came up with a simple solution to all this – they ceased to exist!

This is such a clever solution because it is invisible – no one knew such a solution was even possible! And for that matter – they still don’t know. Most people (the 99 percent) have no idea that they do not exist – or that such a state is possible!

The one percent know – but they are ignored.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

