Classifying

Do we have have to classify everything? Yes.

I am now studying Machine Learning – and taking a MOOC from the University of Waikato in New Zealand, about Data Mining – using their Weka toolkit.

I know this is a lot to throw at you – it was to me too. And it has taken some time for all this to soak in. I have been thrown in the deep side of the pool, and forced to swim. And I don’t much like it.

One of the things the Weka toolkit does is apply classifiers – of which there are many. I found myself screaming “Why this? My life is complicated enough.” It is saying “Too bad, but your life will have to get more complicated, before it can get simpler.”

The Computer can now learn – using techniques similar to human learning. This means it has to classify its data – just as we do.

We have merged with the Computer – just as we have merged with many technologies in the past. Each time, we have become different – better in some ways, and worse in other ways.

Leave a Reply

