Mental Illness is Part of a Culture

I noticed this back in the Nineties, when I worked in Silicon Valley – the whole Valley was crazy. And plenty of other people noticed this, and wrote books about it. And therapists of every description, said they could cure it.

But none of them called this strange behavior, mental illness. That would have been going too far. They would have been tarred and feathered, and ridden out of town on a rail. Or something equally serious.

This morning, I downloaded Brain Hacking – where I found much of the same nonsense going on. The refusal to notice that mental illness is part of a culture. That entire cultures can be crazy.

Is this too much for people to see? It seems so – if it is part of their culture.

Perhaps another observation is apt. I met a man here in Orosi, where I live – who seemed to have his act together. He invited me to join him for breakfast, at a restaurant of my choosing. I picked the most expensive place in town. While we were eating – I mentioned that Americans didn’t seem to know what was going on. And his answer surprised me “They know what is going on,” He said “But they are afraid!”

I knew he was right, and I wanted to talk about it some more. But he terminated our conversation, right there – and never brought it up again.

Some things people do not want to talk about.

Leave a Reply

