Optimism and Realism

How much optimism is built into Americanism! Too much, in my opinion.

I saw family after family fail in my early life – in the middle of the last Century – often taking down the husbands with them. I was better off – my wife died first, when we were in our Twenties, in the Sixties – while I am still alive at 79 – in another Century.

But America, as a whole – as unrealistic as ever – has gone from being the most powerful nation in history to being a has-been.

Building your future based on fantasies – which is what optimism usually amounts to – is like building your house on sand – as the Good Book tells us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

