Is Software Part of the Larger World?

You will not be interested in this – but I was dragged into it back in the Eighties – when my life as an Electronic Engineer ended, and I was out of work.

I could see computers had jobs, when there weren’t many – and I got into Computers. When I got there, it was obvious that Software was the next place to go. It was just a matter of following my nose – and it could smell money from a mile off.

I was not alone – plenty of people, mostly young people – crammed the roads into Silicon Valley. Most of them went back home, a few years later, with their tails between their legs. But I had been around for awhile, and could see the light at the end of the tunnel. Computers were the only place to be – and I stayed there – hoping things would get better.

Eventually, I could also see the Valley was not the place for me – and I moved to Costa Rica. Here, from a safe distance I can see the Computer Wars – and plenty of other wars – while wearing my pajamas in front of my computer, that is connected to a high-speed Internet.

Software continues to fascinate me – this may not be a wholesome fascination – but my brain has become one of the Computers many brains – in the Computer Cloud. And it doesn’t have much choice in the matter.

Everything is happening there at warp speed! Consider the topic of Domain-driven design on Wikipedia. Look in Software Development Process on the right. This blows my mind – I can only sniff around in it, and take a bite, here and there.

This is hard chewing, but my guts are used to that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

