Social Development

I have stumbled onto this subject by accident – but now that I am here, it feels like a lucky accident.

There are many, many people telling us what we have to do, and how to do it. But no one is spending much time wondering why we haven’t done it – why we can’t get our act together.

Indeed, we hear just the opposite – that we have got our act together, and everything is fine – almost. They have to concede that some problems do exist, here and there, But then rush on to explain that these problems are being solved, somehow – without saying how.

I’m here to tell you that these problems are not being solved – because they cannot be solved.

I have seen this happen so many times – someone achieves some breakthrough behavior, and makes some amazing progress. And then throws it all away. As if God is watching them – and will only permit them to go so far.

These people are scared to death – and cannot take the radical (but simple) step of being themselves. And recognizing where they are.

I was in the same boat, when I was living in Silicon Valley in the Nineties. I couldn’t do anything to save myself. All I could do was get out – and move to Costa Rica.

Costa Rica is not perfect, far from it – but it does like people, and will not get on their case – because they are Gringos.

Leave a Reply

