My New Kodak Digital Camera was Not Made by Kodak

Kodak PIXPRO Friendly Zoom FZ43 16 MP Digital Camera with 4X Optical Zoom and 2.7″ LCD Screen (Black)

This is the fourth digital camera I have owned – the rest have been stolen. In Costa Rica, where I live – causal theft is common, and it not considered a crime – legally.  Your handy little digital camera will disappear quickly – if not watched carefully.

When I unpacked this new toy of mine, I was surprised to find it was made by JK Imaging, Ltd. It licenses the trademark Kodak – from the film company, that no longer makes cameras itself.

I wish I could tell you how wonderful this new miracle is – but that would not be truthful.

I started out taking few pictures of some railroad tracks, that had been used as telephone poles, but had been bent out of shape. I could not see the tracks on the screen – because I was looking into a brightly-lit sky in the background. The pictures did not come out at all, because I could not see what I was doing, for the life of me.

The camera uses the same basic technology as that used by a smartphone – only it has a much better lens. It is made for taking standard pictures of people and their pets – not telephone poles.

The next long bus ride I take, I will take a video out of the window of the bus – showing the depressing buildings along the road. They really are ugly.

Leave a Reply

