I Have a One-Track Mind

And sometimes, in my old age – even less.

My mother noticed this when I was just a little tad. And I have found it something to remember throughout my life. I have to remember to do only one thing at a time. If I try to do more – nothing gets done right.

I can walk and chew gum alright – but if I see an attractive woman when I am walking, I have to make sure, every few seconds, to pay attention to other things. Or I might run into a wall, and injure myself.

One thought on “I Have a One-Track Mind

  1. Hal, I can relate to this, so maybe it is a family trait? I have found it very difficult to multi-focus, both in music and in law. It is an advantage in that I can really focus on an immediate task, but a disadvantage in that it is hard for me to see the larger picture–and in music it was very difficult to focus on multi-musical lines, like playing the piano with multiple chords to read at the same time. I have wondered about this….

Leave a Reply

