Hatred of Information

Americans are haters – as I have often remarked in these pages. And the range of their hatred is remarkable.

Recently, I was sent some genealogical information from a relative I didn’t know. We all have hundreds of those scattered across our family tree. I tried to share this with other family members – only to find they were not interested in this.

I could sympathize, this was a huge amount of information to absorb, all of a sudden. But then I expected them to slowly get used to it. They did not, and seemed to be offended by this intrusion of new information into their orderly lives.

They don’t realize they now live in an Information Economy – and they are incapable of being there.

I work at absorbing new information all the time, and consider this part of life. As my mother used to say “Live and learn!”

 

One thought on “Hatred of Information

Leave a Reply

