Love

Mating in Captivity: Unlocking Erotic Intelligence

“Love arises from within ourselves as an imaginative act, a creative synthesis that aims to fulfill our deepest longings, our oldest dreams, that allows us both to renew and transform ourselves.” Love is at once an affirmation and a transcendence of who we are.

Through love we imagine a new way of being. You see me as I’ve never seen myself. You airbrush my imperfections, and I like what you see. With you, and through you, I will become that which I long to be. I will become whole. Being chosen by the one you chose is one of the glories of falling in love. It generates a feeling of intense personal importance. I matter. You confirm my significance.

Against this, I can say, with complete confidence – that I have never been in love! I thought I was in love when I was married, we both did – what else could we have thought? But that was the thinnest of illusions, that was soon swept away. By the hatred in both our families.

At the same time, I can see many others doing the same thing – my Mother and Father, for example. And everyone else in my family.

I can even point at entire towns that are this way – or even the MidWest (a huge area) where I was raised.

I can remember Ida Lutz, the Avon Lady in my home town of 1000 people. She was a gossip, who always started by saying “I know I shouldn’t be saying this!” Mother, a very religious woman (the whole town was religious) was always very eager to hear the latest.

    • Elizabeth
    • June 13th, 2017

    Many people do not believe that love even exists. I think it does. Real love means that you love without wanting or hoping for anything in return. I think “being in love” or “falling in love” is always temporary. Being in love is a state of emotional euphoria, in a way, and that feeling can’t last forever. But…love, is not euphoric and in fact it is often actually painful. Love has more power than anything else, in my opinion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

